Last Thursday I substituted for another Conservative member on the Community Outlook committee.  Two reports were before the committee.  The first was on car parking charges across the borough.  I supported a freeze in the charges this year due to the difficult financial climate.  I also supported some further work into looking at Christmas reductions in 2010 onwards.  I think to be competitive our borough has to look at the pricing structure of the shopping car parks.

The second item was a report by Liberal Democrat councillor Tony Ford.  Cllr. Ford had brought a well written and thought out report on dog fouling.  The report made some interesting recommendations that I was happy to support.  Dog fouling is a scourge and we need to tackle it.  The new dog control orders will make it easier to fine and control offending owners.

Next meeting in Monday 28th when it is full council, I’ll report back.

