Last week I visited the memorial park.  I was impressed at how well the plants are bedding in and since it was a sunny day I enjoyed looking at the newly refurbished memorial.  I was however, upset to see how many bottles and cans were splashed about the place. 

The morning after the night before

The morning after the night before

And it’s not just my visit that has brought attention to this problem.  I have been having several email complaints for local residents.  This is an issue that needs dealing with and as such I’m going to sort the following out.
  • Have an on site meeting with the police.
  • Check with the council on the clean schedule and make sure enough attention is given
  • See if the mobile CCTV camera van can pay a Friday or Saturday night visit

There is another serious point here.  Conservatives at County Hall wanted to increase the Trading Standard’s budget to get more staff to check on under age sales.  This idea was knocked back by Labour and the Independents. 

