In a ground breaking partnership between Fylde Council and the YMCA Kirkham Baths is to stay open.

The deal will see Fylde Council financially support the baths while the YMCA own and manage it.  This is the goal that I’ve been working to for the last 12 months.  At last years budget cabinet meeting I voted against my Conservative colleagues on the cabinet which lead directly to the one year reprieve to give council officers and myself time to work out a deal.  That deal went to the 11th hour and was only ratified at the budget meeting two days ago and the YMCA board last night.

I have always supported Kirkham Baths and will continue to do so.  Today is good news for Kirkham, Wesham and Rural Fylde and shows that local politicians can actually make a difference.  It is a pity that the only Kirkham and Wesham councillors to support the budget which keeps the pool open were John Bennett and I.

My next priority to to hammer out another deal with the YMCA to seek the reopening of St Annes Pool.

