I’ve been in London this week, having a tourist day and the next day a business day.  But the highlight was Dr. Liam Fox’s drinks reception at the Carlton Club.  I was lucky to be invited and felt almost like a gate crasher hoping for my five minutes with Dr.Fox.  However, about 30 minutes into the reception a lull in the conversation was evident.  I looked over the the entrance and in walked Margaret Thatcher.  At this point I’ll declare my interest.  I am a fan of the Lady, I am a child of the Thatcher revolution, I crave her free market monetarist policy and I admire they way she and Reagan won the cold war and saved the world for us all.  I know not everyone will agree with me on those points – but nonetheless she is a true character of world politics and at 84 still has steely determination and stamina.

As the party progressed different groups were introduced to her.  I was getting round to thinking I may not be lucky this time until Liam Fox called me and my friend, Paul Maynard, over.  ‘Lady Thatcher, can I introduce Simon Renwick and Paul Maynard – they are from Lancashire where we are doing very well’  Mrs Thatcher wished us luck in the coming campaigns – Paul is hoping to become the MP for Blackpool North and Cleveleys and I am helping in his campaign.

A truly memorable evening and one I will not forget in a long time – a dream come true.

The seat of Government - a shame Labour are abusing it.

The seat of Government - a shame Labour are abusing it.

