Today I’ve spent much of the day sorting out the local birds!  I’ve put up two bird boxes, two feeders and have made several lard cakes for use over the next couple of weeks.  This time of the year, it is crucial that birds have a ready supply of good quality food and clean water.  A healthy bird population of native species keeps the balance in our natural environment.  Click here for further info from the RSPB.

Well, my efforts have been rewarded with many new visitors to the garden, a huge flock of starlings, several sparrows, some lovely robins, a pair of blackbirds and a number of coal tits.

My camera skills are still developing, so below is the only decent one taken today, although my kids did take many hundreds of practice shots!

A friendly winter visitor.

A friendly winter visitor.

