In between delivering Christmas Cards today, I’ll be popping in to the excellent Christmas Market being help in the Market Square in Kirkham.  I think events like these become destination visits that bring more and more people into Kirkham.  I think Kirkham is at a cross roads.  With help from the council and the great Kirkham & Wesham Business Group Kirkham could turn round it’s fortunes.  The council has invested in a new shop front scheme to get all the shop fronts looking good, we’ve guaranteed free parking and we gave through the Community Project Fund £4,800 to build the chalet style sheds that local trader use for the Markets.

It’s just a shame that at a time when all this is happening locally, the country is going to the dog financially.  The credit crunch, I hope though will not have an effect today and that the event is well supported – lets hope it stops raining and I hope to see people there.  And look out for your Christmas Card as I do wish all rural Fylde residents a merry Christmas.

