Last night I attended a meeting of the local youth council and the local youth opportunity fund.  This was at the Kirkham Youth Base.  I was there as it was local democracy week and local councillor had been invited to attend to help the young people explore what it means to have a vote and to then use that vote.  Although the invite went to many councillors, only myself, Councillor Karen Buckley and County Councillor Bernard Whittle made the effort to turn up.

I was impressed with the young people, who were very keen to explore local democracy.  I was also impressed with their ‘Big Green Summer’ campaign.  The campaign focused on tidying up the local environment around the youth base.  I was upset to learn that they had initially had trouble getting help from local agencies.  However, in the end Fylde Borough Council came through and provided support.  I pledged to support any future schemes.

