Being a bit of a food lover (can you tell with my expanding waist line!?!) I was determined to go to the Kirkham and Wesham market last Saturday.  The organisers have done a great job having the continental style market stalls built.  The Community Projects fund, set up by the Conservatives at Fylde, provided the funds for this project and it’s great to see the community benefiting so directly from a Conservative policy.

Buying some creamy Lancashire local cheese, on of my favourites.

Buying some creamy Lancashire local cheese, on of my favourites.

There was lots on display and it would be interesting to see if it brought people from outside the normal Saturday catchment area in.  I was impressed with the fresh local meat store, the cheese, the bread and the coffee store, in fact it was all very good.  Local produce is good for the local economy and also the local environment (no transport pollution).

The local meat stores had alsorts on it, the sausage was good.  The farm is based in Weeton.

The local meat stores had alsorts on it, the sausage was good. The farm is based in Weeton.

To finish off my local shopping, I bought a tea mug in aid of St. Michael’s Church spire.  On Sunday I was up in the Lakes again and visited the organic farm shop at Sizergh Low Barn, click here and got some more local organic cheese.  I think I’ll have to get my cheese addiction under control.

