This weekend has been pretty busy.  I was the guest of Councillor Peter Collins, from Blackpool Council, on Friday night for the light switch on.  The event was a huge success for Blackpool and attracted over 20,000 people for the live Radio Two event.  The Stig from BBC’s Top Gear did the honours, but not before Scouting For Girls, Boyzone and Sandi Thom had entertained us.  After the switch on there was a party at the Tower Ball Room where I actually met all the band members of Scouting for Girls.

Peter Collins was the candidate that won the Park Ward by-election in June.  I was his agent and together with Paul Maynard we achieved the biggest swing to a Conservative candidate in a by election this year in the the whole country.  I’ll be using plenty of those tecniques in my coming campaigns.

I did ask to join, but he said something about Street Cred.

I did ask to join, but he said something about Street Cred.

I then took my children 10 pin bowling, where after three strikes in a row I reverted to normal and was rubbish, barely breaking 100.

They enjoyed it and very nearly beat me.

They enjoyed it and very nearly beat me.

Saturday night was a regular on the local Conservative Party’s event calendar.  John Coombes Pimms night.  Events like this are a great place to chat socially with other Conservatives and councillors while raising plenty of money to fund leaflets. 

Blackpool North and Cleveley's next Tory MP, Paul Maynard and Fylde COuncil leader, John Coombes.

Blackpool North and Cleveley

Today I’m spending printing out surveys that’ll go out in Kirkham over the next few weeks.  This survey will be addressed to every resident over 18 years old.  It’s important that people are asked to give their opinion on local issues and let their local representatives know what they think.  It’s all too easy to make assumptions.

