The council has employed a Dune Conservation Officer in partnership with the Lancashire Wildlife Trust.  The salary coming from a levy placed on the sand extraction (so it’s not placing a burden on the council tax payer).  The lady has been employed for one year, but if the action plan is successful, this will be extended.

The Dunes are a fantastic natural resource and attraction, but they do have to be managed correctly, that is why I am so pleased that we’ve employed this officer.  I find them a peaceful, but challenging place to walk and contemplate.

Josh and Jake enjoying the Sand Dunes.

Josh and Jake enjoying the Sand Dunes.

I’ll be seeking an early meeting and I’ll have a greater understanding of her role after that, but for now I’m very pleased we’ve taken this step forward in protecting the dunes.

