On Saturday I spent an hour as a life guard.  I was shadowing the duty manager, so don’t worry I was not actually on life saving duties….  I was there on a session where 4 other life guards were on duty so I did not detract one bit from their primary role.  The session was the large inflatable session.  You can see from the picture just how large.  There were about 40 kids on it all having a whale of a time. 

Next stop Baywatch.

Next stop Baywatch.

I was extremely impressed at how the staff get on with their jobs.  They are professional and diligent and provide an excellent service and what’s more the kids love them.  Seeing all the fun the children were having and at how good their swimming skills were has made me more determined than ever to make sure we find a lasting settlement to keep Kirkham Pool open. 

I was grateful to Lee, the duty manager and all the staff at Kirkham Pool and have vowed to them to carry on the fight.  Next week I’m being involved in some staff training.  I’m hoping I’ll just be the casualty and not actually have to do any of the timed swimming that the staff are put through.  I can swim and sometimes I can do more than 5 or 6 lengths, but my gentle breaststroke will be no use in an emergency!

