I’ve got back from a busy weekend.  I’ve had two days break in the Lake District where I’ve done a bit of walking and loads of relaxing.  On one of the walks we discovered what I think is a fantastic little pub called the Engine Inn in Cark. 

Today, I was a guest of Sefton Council (I was standing in for the Leader of Fylde Council) at the British Open.  I went with Phil Woodward, the Chief Executive, where I had plenty of time to convince him of the arguments to find money to keep Kirkham Baths going for the foreseeable.  In between we managed to watch some golf.  The condition made it a very challenging open this year and I was please to see Padraig Harrington retain his title.  We also managed to speak to several of Sefton Council’s officials about how they’ve hosted the Open with a view of picking up early tips for when Royal Lytham and St Annes hosts the Open in 2012.

